## Unit 207 Annual Meeting February 15, 2025

- Meeting called to order at 1305 by President Mark Craig. Board members present include Vice President Sharon Hoger, Treasurer Jamie Southerland, Secretary Nola Ray, Membership Earnestine Broyles, Director Region 9 Rebecca Brown, Raymond Borrego, Hospitality Mickey Goldwater and Stuart Litwin. Also present is Larry Davis the Club Manager.
- 2. Treasurer's report by JS: 2024 was the first year we broke even on operations since Covid. We made \$1,200.00 more than we spent. All of the nonlife master and the sectional tournaments made around \$1,000.00. The regional made \$17,000. The investments made about \$21,000.00. All around net revenue \$22,659.00. Our balance is \$176,221.00.
- 3. Club manager report by Larry Davis: we have four open sectionals, three 0-750 tournaments, three 0-200 tournaments and two 0-50 tournaments per year. All of these tournaments are held at the BCA except for the 0-750 tournament in June, which will be held in Georgetown. The 2026 Regional will be held at the Doubletree Hotel. The district area NAPs will be held in Austin every year.
- 4. Rebecca Brown, the District Area will be adding stipends for the NAPs in addition to what the ACBL contributes. The fourth place contestants will receive \$250.00. The third place contestants will receive \$300.00 per player. Second place will receive \$200.00. And first place will not receive money because they are funded by the ACBL. Sharon Hoger will become the district 16 representative.
- 5. Membership report by Ernestine Broyles: our recent average has been 964 members. We are down about 10 members. Ernestine suggests that we encourage our friends who have fallen by the wayside to come back.
- 6. By law changes, these were sent by email to our membership. The first change was to increase the number from two to three three year terms. There was a motion for this bylaw change by James Moody, seconded by Rebecca Brown and passed by the members. The second proposed change was to decrease the number required of candidates for these elections. At this time, if there are three vacancies, we would need six candidates. We propose that if we have three vacancies, we would only need three plus one candidate. Stuart Litman arrives around 1318. There was a motion to pass this change, seconded and passed by the membership.
- 7. Update on the election: the three outgoing members of the board include Mark Craig, Sharon Hoger, and Mickey Goldwater. Our nominees for this election include Ann Roe, Susanna Busico, Mark Craig, Linda Gaston, Ken Luskey and George Watkins. A nominee from the floor is Mickey Goldwater. We will be voting electronically. There are about 10 people who do not have email addresses, or who have chosen not to share them with us. They will receive a paper ballot.
- 8. The Ace of Clubs Awards and the Mini-McKinney Awards for 2024 are found under the ACBL District 16 webpage. The Goodwill Awards recipients are Earnestine Broyles and George Watkins. The Star Award recipient is Mary Cisneros.
- 9. A motion by James Moody to adjourn at 1325, seconded by RBr and we let the game begin.